May 19, 2010

  • Deadwood- Deep Water(episode 2)

    Go here to get caught up on episode 1, Pilot.

    http://www.deadwoodchronicles.com/protect/images/DeadwoodS1/Ep-2/Ep2-camp.jpghttp://www.deadwoodchronicles.com/protect/images/DeadwoodS1/Ep-2/Ep-2-EB.jpg
    http://www.deadwoodchronicles.com/protect/images/DeadwoodS1/Ep-2/Ep-2-Sol-Seth.jpghttp://www.deadwoodchronicles.com/protect/images/DeadwoodS1/Ep-2/Ep-2-Doc.jpg
    Top left: The camp of Deadwood  Top right: E.B. Farnum (recognize him?  He was Larry and he had two brothers, Daryl and Daryl)
    Bottom left: Sol Star and Seth Bullock   Bottom right: Doc Cochran played by Brad Dourif.

    So did you watch the first episode?  If not, oh well, there won’t be a quiz.  The pilot episode was well done, this episode brings some humanity to Deadwood.  I love how Doc and Calamity Jane go out of their way to save the little girl from Al Swearengen.  Also this episode sees the first meeting between Bullock and Swearengen and both leave the meeting wanting to slit the other’s throat.  Also we see how loyal Dan is to Al in that Dan is willing to kill a small child to protect Al.  I love how Deadwood had such a rigid continuity.  The series lasted three years so it seemed like there were 3 movies.  This is another reason I loved the show, each storyline is refreshed in each episode.  The storylines were developed via scaffolds and they leave you hanging for more.

    Plot Summary: As suspicions arise that “road agents” may have been the true perpetrators of the massacre, Swearengen takes a special interest in the health of its sole survivor, a young girl ministered to by the unlikely team of Doc Cochran and Calamity Jane. Meanwhile, Bullock and Star attempt to buy property from Swearengen, who suspects an alliance between Hickok and these hardware boys. At the Grand Central Hotel, Brom Garret rethinks his recent investment, while his wife Alma medicates her anxieties. And as a confrontation brews over the young survivor, Hickok asks Bullock to cover his back in a tension filled poker game.

    Trivia:
    Deaths: 2, Tom Mason by Wild Bill and Persimmon Phil by Al Swearengen

    At the end of the first episode we see Trixie place a derringer on the night stand next to Al. This is also what we see her handed earlier, and what is in her dress. The next morning, at the start of this episode, the pistol has changed to a revolver (just like the one she used at the start of the last episode.)

    In the first season, Al and others refer to the Swedish family that was massacred as “Squareheads”. This was a popular slang term used to refer to Germans, Dutch, or Swedes. However, the term wasn’t in use until around 1905. Deadwood takes place in the 1870′s.

    Quotes:
    Al Swearengen: Here’s my counteroffer to your counteroffer: go fuck yourself! (I so want to use that one in a negotiation session)

    Doc Cochran: I see as much misery outta them movin’ to justify theirselves as them that set out to do harm.

    Con Stapleton: That man’s gun never left his holster Mr. Hickok.
    Hickok: He meant me harm.
    Tom Mason: (to Hickok) You killed my brother.
    Hickok : And now I killed you.

    Ellsworth: (to Brom Garret) Don’t weaken Pilgrim. ‘Twixt nuggets and nothing she’s usually going to show you some flake.

    Total number of the word “fuck” is said: 49
    “Fucks” per minute: 0.817
    Cumulative “fucks”: 104
    Cumulative “fucks” per minute: 0.867FPM

    Enjoy the show!

Comments (12)

  • Loved that series, especially the early seasons

  • Not familiar with that series.

    But I’ve learned a new word tonight… “counteroffer”

  • I am totally in love with Deadwood, rewatch it regularly and I’m really sorry it’s no longer being made.  It just had some really great dynamics and twists in character motivations that kept the stories fresh…I mean half the time you never knew who was going to be a good guy or a bad guy from time to time, which essentially is a very, very human reality that I loved seeing represented.  I mean, we are all both good and bad and our motivations are not so black and white.

  • Hm, I’ve never heard of this T.V. series before! I’m not usually a fan of shows that take place during the past but there was one series that I followed religiously… though now I can’t remember the name.

  • Why this excellent show is not still on is what baffles me. So much happened to these people in later years. Sol Starr was mayor for 5 terms, Bullock and Teddy Roosevelt became best friends, and Bullock walked with him during his Inaugural Parade. Swearingen died penniless, and so on….

    The casting was letter-perfect, too.

  • @bluezbrewsbbqz - 

    I don’t want to ruin it for people who haven’t seen it but I couldn’t believe the sheriff and the proprietor of the Gem Saloon became allies in the third season.

  • @RestlessButterfly - 

    I’m glad you learned something from my posts.

  • @ExposedWrists - 

    It was so awesome and the cast was stellar despite having very few “stars”. And, yes, it was more memorable because nothing was really black and white. I would have loved to been there in those days.

  • @m_kabs - 

    This one was on HBO. I love history so it was perfect for me.

  • @MelFamy - 

    Although the did take liberties with storylines, so much of the show was “real” and that was what really captivated me. I wish they would make a movie much like HBO did with Sex and the City to tie things up there. Al died in Denver in a fire, broke as you said. Bullock was fascinating in how he was so close with Roosevelt. Bullock erected a monument to Teddy somewhere out there and it’s called Mount Roosevelt. Oh and Bullock is buried in the same cemetery as Wild Bill and Calamity Jane. I wish I had a digital camera when I went out to Deadwood.

  • I have some friends who refuse to watch this because there is violence in it. Not that I LOVE violence or anything but it is a part of history. Could you imagine watching a documentary on the civil war and not see any shooting? Or World War 2? Violence is poignant in that it helps us understand the depth or intensity of a situation.

  • @theladyofabundance - 

    I wasn’t a fan of the violence of this show however that was part of history and how the people in that time had to survive. I’m sure there was more violence and sex than what the show portrayed.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *